Orleans House Gallery Richmond upon Thames, Surrey, Greater London
ORLEANS HOUSE GALLERY
RIVERSIDE, TWICKENHAM TW1 3DJ
Telephone 0871 560 9483
Richmond Attractions
Richmond Business
Richmond Car Hire
Richmond Hotels
Richmond Restaurants
Richmond Transport
London Hotels

Holiday Inn Express Hotels

Home
Orleans House Gallery


Stroll along Twickenham reverside into the woodland gardens of Orleans House, to find stunning 18th century interior design and an excellent public art gallery. Named after its most famous resident, Louis Phillippe, Duc D'Orleans who lived there in exile between 1813-15; Orleans House was originally built in 1710 for James Johnston, Secretary of State for Scotland. The stunning baroque Octagon room was built by architect James Gibbs in 1720. After two centuries of private ownership, Orleans House was demolished in 1926. The outbuildings and octagon room were saved by Mrs Nellie Ionides and were converted into an art gallery in 1972. The Stables gallery was opened in 1994. Since then, the gallery has established a reputation for its innovative exhibition and education programme, attracting over 28,000 visitors a year. The main gallery hosts five exhibitions per year, ranging from historical exhibitions using works from the permanent collection, through to contemporary exhibtions of painting, crafts and ceramics. Each main gallery exhibition is complemented by In Focus, featuring a changing themed display of works from the permanent collection. The nearby Stables gallery exhibits work by up and coming cutting edge artists, local artists and community groups and organisations. It is open to the public between April to October.

Orleans House Gallery opened in 1972, consisting of the Octagon and two surviving wings of the former Orleans House. The original Thames side House was built in 1710 for James Johnston, Joint Secretary of State for Scotland under King William III, and favourite of Queen Caroline, wife of King George II. The architect was John James, who later rebuilt Twickenham Parish Church. The House gained its name from its most famous resident, Louis Phillipe, Duc d'Orleans, who lived there from 1815 until 1817 during his exile from Napoleonic France. He became King of the French from 1830 to 1848.

Most of Orleans House was demolished in 1926 and 1927 by the Octagon and two wings were saved by the Hon. Mrs Levy, later Hon. Mrs Ionides. This riverside property and prints of the locality were bequeathed to the local Borough on her death in 1962 to form a public gallery.

The Gallery houses the London Borough of Richmond upon Thames Art Collection, one of the most outstanding fine art collections in London outside of national collections. The collection comprises almost two thousand pictures dating from the early 18th century to the present day, a number of which are of national significance.

The collection contains oil paintings, watercolours, drawings and prints by a number of notable artists, including: Peter Tillemans (1684-1734), Samuel Scott (c1702-1772), Jean-Baptiste-Camille Corot (1796-1875), and Eric Fraser (1902-1983). Painting and prints from the collection are regularly on display.

Visitors of all ages can try out their own artistic talents in a pre-booked workshop at Orleans House, or to soak up more history, Marble Hill House and Ham House are nearby.

The stunning baroque Octagon room was built by architect James Gibbs in 1720. After two centuries of private ownership, Orleans House was demolished in 1926. The outbuildings and octagon room were saved by Mrs Nellie Ionides and were converted into an art gallery in 1972. The Stables gallery was opened in 1994. Since then, the gallery has established a reputation for its innovative exhibition and education programme, attracting over 28,000 visitors a year. The main gallery hosts five exhibitions per year, ranging from historical exhibitions using works from the permanent collection, through to contemporary exhibtions of painting, crafts and ceramics. Each main gallery exhibition is complemented by In Focus, featuring a changing themed display of works from the permanent collection. The nearby Stables gallery exhibits work by up and coming cutting edge artists, local artists and community groups and organisations. It is open to the public between April to October. Our Baroque Octagon Room is available to hire for corporate and private use, and is appropriate for seminars, presentations and functions. As a civil marriage venue, the Octagon holds up to 60 guests, and is a beautiful location for cool summer or cosy winter weddings.

Opening Times and Admission
Please telephone to confirm opening times and admission prices.




Advertise with us


RICHMOND UPON THAMES, GREATER LONDON, ORLEANS HOUSE GALLERY